Understanding a Team

The Cupix web app is equipped with advanced team features that can be assigned to different stakeholders for secure and efficient collaboration. A team in the web app is used as a means of organization, and a team can hold various team members. Each team member can be assigned one of three possible administrative roles, giving them certain amounts of access to team settings or workspaces.

  • Team Member

    Regular team members are not allowed to add or remove other team members and cannot edit team settings like the team logo image. They can access a workspace only after the workspace owner shares it with them. They must submit approval requests to the Billing Admin before creating a new workspace.

  • Team Admin

    Team admins can add or remove other team members and change all team settings. They can access all workspaces created by any team members regardless of share settings, and have permission to Read-Write in these workspaces. There can be more than one team admin on a team. They must submit approval requests to the Billing Admin before creating a new workspace.

  • Billing Admin

    There can be only one billing admin on a team, and only the billing admin can access the Plans and Billing tabs to manage subscription plans and payment. Team members and team admins need the Billing Admin’s approval to activate or create new workspaces.

Workspace Access Permission

In addition to workspace access granted by the roles of team members, the workspace owner can share workspaces with anyone outside the team who has a Cupix account.  These non-team members can have Read-Write or Review-Only permissions.

Note: Please note that only the workspace owner (the creator of the workspace) and team admins can update workspace settings available in the Settings menu.

  • Read-Write Permission

    Users with Read-Write permission can create new tours and update 3D tours created by others. They cannot delete or publish a 3D tour unless they created the tour.

  • Review-Only Permission

    Users with the Review-Only permission are not allowed to create or update 3D tours in the accessible workspace.  They can only access 3D tours set to ‘Review-Only Ready’.

    When users with Review-Only permissions access 3D tours with ‘Review-Only Ready’ on, the Review tab is available, which consists of the Web Player and the discussion tool. They can add dimensions to the tour if the workspace owner or team admins enable this function from the Customize Player Options in the Publisher tab.


Team AdminWorkspace Owner3D Tour OwnerRead-Write PermissionReview-Only Permission
Create 3D tours




Delete 3D tours




Publish 3D tours




Update 3D tours




Update workspace settings




Access Review-tab




Keep in mind: Anyone who is granted Read-Write permissions, whether or not they are your team member, can create 3D tours in the workspace, and all costs associated with creating new 3D tours will be billed to your team account.

Using the Discussion Tool

Use the discussion tool in the Review tab to discuss issues with stakeholders. You can insert a viewpoint link on a pano to help collaborators narrow in on a point of interest. This hyperlink points to a pano set with a desired view angle and camera zoom.  When the viewpoint link is clicked, the image is automatically displayed with the exact angle and zoom presets, immediately showing the area you want to discuss. There are additional issue management features that enable you to mark a discussion thread resolved and quickly check off finished issues.

The most recent comments added to the Review tabs of all accessible 3D tours are aggregated under the Comment History button which is available on the 3D tour list page.  This feature allows you to receive the latest discussion updates without looking at your email inbox

Best Practices - Working with Different Types of Stakeholders

Share vs. Publish

We do not provide any means for search engines like Google or Bing to index published 3D tours, so the general public cannot easily find your 3D tours until you embed the tour links on a public web page or social media post. It is bad practice to publish a 3D tour and share the link with a limited group of people for private projects because anyone with the link can share it with others without your knowledge.  Therefore, if you want to control access on published 3D tours, take advantage of the team features and workspace sharing.

  • Add most of your employees as team members and share workspaces with Read-Write or Review-Only permissions depending on their responsibilities.
  • Add most of your employees as team members and share workspaces with Read-Write or Review-Only permissions depending on their responsibilities.
  • Add top executives or high-level decision makers, whose responsibility is mostly overseeing progress rather than updating details themselves, as team members who can view workspaces with Review-Only access.  Make sure Review-Only Ready is set to ‘on’ when you believe 3D tours are ready to be presented to top executives.

Additionally, using the discussion threads with viewpoint links can help your team drastically increase the clarity of communication compared to using traditional media like photos, videos, or verbal explanation.

Working with Outsiders

Clients, partners, subcontractors, and anyone else who participates in your projects but are not part of your organization should be given Review-Only access when collaborating. Because they are required to sign into Cupix before viewing your workspace or 3D tours, you can control the security of your work using access level settings.